Home

There’s something wonderful about starting something new.

At certain points in our lives, we have the chance to begin things again.

Sometimes by choice, and sometimes through circumstance.

Sometimes both.

Although I was considering leaving my job, I don’t know that I would have had the courage to do so had I not had my hand forced by recent budget cuts. This resulted in 3 positions being made redundent, one of which was mine – the Online Editor.

Although I work for one of the world’s biggest global meda companies, I’ll not be sorry to leave on Friday.

I learned lots there, but when the radio station was bought over by a corporate giant the fun and enjoyment was sucked vampirically from the team. And not to get too far into things but it was a station of classic rock. Now I love me some Aerosmith and Queen from time to time, when occasiona demands, but I hardly think of it as life.

So it’s a chance to put the past away, forge a new career, find someone special to share it with, and embrace the reasons I came to London in the first place.

I think there are times in every persons life where they experience this, probably more than once.

Do you know what I hate though?

I hae hearing people describe it as “back to square one”.

It’s a stupid phrase if you think about it.

It makes it sound like a regression. You’re never back to square one. If you’ve had the bad experiences we all endure as we go through life, you grow as a person and you become wiser and stronger for them.

This job hasn’t worked out how I would have ideally wanted it to, but I’ve learned a phenomenal amount in the 8 months I’ve been there.

When I moved to London last July I was really rather naive about the nature of men. I had no idea both how good or how wicked they could be. But I’ve learned. Almost a year on and I know I’m stronger for it.

I’m very frightened about leaving my current job, but it’s a real opportunity to put myself further into the industries I’ve always wanted to inhabit – fashion, theatre, film and entertainment.

That’s what you should concentrate on next time your new chapter begins.

Don’t think about the regression you’ve taken – think about the world of opportunity that now awaits you out there.

Leave a Reply

