Home

It’s been a while since I tried New Years Resolutions. They really do strike me as something of a waste of time,and from what I’ve seen, last until around February if you’re lucky.

However, it’s been a year of changes, so it seems like a good time to try to make some changes in my life for the better. I’ve tried to find things for 2014 which are (a) feasible and (b) things I really want to achieve  – as opposed to general stuff like “stop drinking” (which, let’s face it, is never going to happen).

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions-572x433

New job. My natural instinct is always to be looking for the next opportunity. Having worked freelance it’s second nature, and “looking over the fence” is a habit I’ve had since childhood.

But having been so thankful to land the social media job I’m currently in, I don’t want to do that. I just want to focus on doing the best I can do in my current position. No coveting something better.

Boyfriend. The past year I’ve done a lot of sexual exploration. While it’s been fun, I’d really like to try and build something meaningful with one person. I’m not looking for that all consuming, all encompassing passionate love, if it even exists. Just that friendly companionship of having someone special to hang out and share a mutual respect and attraction with.

Cooking. I was so scared of spending too much money in the past new months that I got really lazy about cooking. Seriously, I just pretty much lived on crackers and cereal. But having started to re-discover the joy of asian food I want to get into the habit of regular cooking. I love Chinese food and got pretty into it before, and my favourite present at Christmas was the YO! Sushi cookbook.

YO! Sushi is my favourite restaurant, and sushi is without doubt a food I want to master. I mean, it’s just divine.

If I an become competent at Chinese and Japanese cuisine over the next year I will be very well pleased.

Baking. I started working my way through the Hummingbird Bakery cookbook last year, and there’s something incredibly relaxing about baking. Not to mention it tastes great (usually) and it saves a bundle.

Going out. One of the secrets of enjoying a place like London (and life, for that matter) is not letting work take over. Moving between the office and home is, I find, when feelings become strained and monotony sets in.

Taking time to meet friends, try new things and go out and about is the surest way to keep yourself stimulated and enjoy a city as wonderful as London. When I was struggling to get by over the past few months this is something I stopped doing, partly to save money and partly as I was very depresed and it all seemed like too much effort.

I’m not a massive one for clubs and such, I got most of the wild party animal thing out of my system at uni, but keeping up with fulfilling experiences is what makes life worth living I’ve found.

Room. I love my room in the house I’ve just moved into, and the house mates are so much nicer than my last set.

It may sound trite, but there’s something about coming home to a clean, fresh-smelling, personalised room. I really want to take more time to make sure mine is decorated, cleaned and fragranced. Not to mention this may well help my chances of I achieve resolution 2 . 😉

eBay. I’ve always loved collecting interesting memorabilia. And ever since seeing 4 Rooms I’ve been interested in getting into selling them. I really want to learn how to use eBay – how do you sell stuff on there? All seems slightly confusing.

And those are my resolutions for 2014!Let’s see if I can keep any…

Leave a Reply

