Home

“You have such a glamorous job!”

It’s something many of us long to hear. It’s why we fight so hard to make it in the world of writing or social media, PR or fashion editorial.

Sometimes I remember getting such a high when I would hear people say that.

It’s natural; someone envies us and we feel good about ourselves. It boosts our self-esteem.

But here’s what I’ve found to be the truth – it’s all smoke and mirrors.

When I was freelancing in London I was invited to some fabulously glamorous parties. Kensington, Mayfair, Soho – I once went between venues in a double decker bus decked out like a nightclub, complete with bars, DJ and dance floors.

But I was paid nothing for the piece I had been commissioned to write about the evening.

I’ve met crowds of people who deck themselves out in glamorous labels – both on the inside and outside. ‘Entrepreneur’, ‘director’, ‘creative’, ‘businessman’. They wear them the same way they’d wear Emporio, Dior, Chanel or Burberry.

And they run about as deep.

Most aren’t earning enough money to support themselves. Most are doing it on Mummy and Daddy’s pocket.

It’s te same as when you were in high school. You wanted to be one of the popular kids, but once you were in those circles you realised the shallowness and hypocrisy of it. That they weren’t really friends who loved and supported each other.

Well, fuck that.

Give me a steady job I enjoy and can build a solid career on and a few decent friends any day. I broke out of the “glamour” whirlpool, and if you’re in it I’d advise anyone to do the same.

Don’t do what is going to make you feel glamorous or like a social media movie star. Try doing what is going to make you happy.

Because the first will last you about 5 minutes. The latter could leave you fulfilled forever.

A much more worthwhile gamble I’d say.

Leave a Reply

