Home

After being approached by the poker job, I informed my current bosses. They agreed to end my probation period early AND give me a raise!

Needless to say, I think turning the poker job down was the right course of action. 6 months I would have been over the moon about it, but just penning marketing copy is not what I want to do for the rest of my life. I love what I’m doing right now and what I’m learning.

I think social media marketing may be my niche.

It’s funny, because the sum they have offered me if precisely the amount that a year and a half ago I was joking with a friend about being a crazily large annual salary.

“Imagine what you could do with that!” I remember saying.

From April that is the salary I will have. It’s a bit mad to think about it. As someone who came to London with nothing, landed a job, had that job end and had to survive for almost 5 months on the bare minimum it feels a bit like winning the lottery.

And when my boss called to tell me, she was full of praise for the work I’ve been doing. Now, as someone who has come up against my share of bosses to have one who likes and appreciates what I do, and seems to like me as a person too, is a very special thing.

“Please don’t leave” were her words when we had a meeting this week.

I’ve never known a boss like her.

True, the web and web hosting may not be areas which fascinate me hugely, but the job itself is a veritable fountain of learning. In a time when many grads are stuck in jobs as dull as dishwater, if they can find a job at all, I think I’ve been very lucky.

For one thing, the salary is almost double what I was earning last year working at Bauer.

As I said to a friend today, I’m the first to cry bullshit if I think something is bollocks (like Kabbalah). Yet the sessions of meditation and positive thinking seem to have yielded fruit.

Or possibly it was the Thai Buddha I bought yesterday.

Or just maybe, I can say in pride it was down to a lot of my own efforts.

 

Leave a Reply

