Home

…They say it makes the world go round.

I spoke with a very dear friend of mine, a housemate in the first ever house I moved into in London. She is off to Greece to work in a wonderful bookshop for room and board, then to travel in Eastern Europe.

I chatted with Mr, Ivan today. He was telling me about his weakness or Richard James peacoats (each of which retails for around £500-700).

I was fascinated by what my friend was doing in the name of pursuing what she loves. Ivan’s remarks, for some reason, just made me want to slap him. They just seemed so shallow and material.

Now I’m a realist. I know money is vital. There’s no point denying it. We need roofs over our heads, food in our mouths and clothes on our backs. That’s a given.

But as I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been practicing meditation regularly and exploring more of my spiritual side. There really is something to it. It doesn’t diminish my determination to be successful in what I do, but it does make me realise that to live and boast about how much money you make is an extremely poor way to go through life.

I mean, we only get a few short year on this planet. Why would you want to spend them hoarding bits of paper?

Yes, there is something lovely about treating yourself when you’ve worked hard. But there is a world of difference between that and boasting about all the Richard James you can afford. It’s why when I heard this week about what goes on in the ‘Bullingdon Club’ I was appalled. It’s vile and disgusting. Money may be essential to life and happiness, to a degree, but it truly does turn people into the most poisonous, oozing bastards sometimes.

As I’ve been exploring my spiritual side more I’ve become intrigued by the practises of Zen Buddhism, which teaches finding spiritual fulfilment and nourishment in confronting yourself and your nature. Yes, having a full bank account is immensely satisfying. Having the options which more money brings is satisfying. But it is not the only currency out there. I think, I suspect, that the deeper you go into meditation the more you find another currency, one which is a purer thing by far than the one which sits in your bank account.

Because our mental situation dictates everything. It dictates how we feel when we wake up in the morning. How we feel when we go to sleep. How we work, interact and feel with the people around us. Through meditation and spiritual exploration you can change your outlook on life. No amount of money can truly do that.

The fascinating thing the blessing/curse of money and how someone uses and applies it absolutely defines them.

But what, ultimately, gives us more satisfaction – spending money on ourselves, or spending time?

The most interesting thing, to me, is that one seems to be intrinsically linked to the other. Since I began consciously taking time to switch off, meditate, and work on cultivating my own inner landscape, I’ve done better. I’m more confident at work, I can juggle more projects, and I seem to be having much better success than I was in the past. I don’t know if positive vibrations and all that side of things really work in the real world, but I do know for certain that becoming satisfied spiritually is a big part to enjoying life.

You may not be able to conjure money from the air, but you can certainly put yourself on the right path to achieving it.

Of course, it;s what you do with it after you have it that will show how much you’ve learned.

Leave a Reply

