Home

In my first time seeing my family since Christmas, I saw my brother’s graduation and was able to spend a few days far from the hustle and bustle of London.

It made me realise, for one thing, that I’m very lucky to have the family that I do. We may not always see eye to eye, but I believe they do love me, and they would help me if I needed it. There’s a lot to be said for a blessing like that.

However I did realise on the journey to Scotland that it isn’t, truthfully, my home anymore. Why? Because I can feel the adult transition into making my own home. Who that will be with I’m not sure, but the place I feel most at home in is London.

The other great blessing, of course, is to look forward to going back to London.

It brings me back to when I would be returning to boarding school after a weekend at home, with a deep pit of dread in my stomach. I wold feel scared, afraid and timid, locked in a place and a body I couldn’t understand, surrounded by anger, aggression and, sometimes, hate.

Now I know I am returning to a career and friends, in the city I always dreamed of living.

I’m not a great one for resolutions, as I’ve said before they tend to be broken or forgotten on day 2, but there is something in getting goals and achievements.

As such, here are my return to London goals:

Learn to sew: while at home, Mum taught be how to sew buttons again, and it reminded me how much I used to enjoy working with a needle and thread. Must check up and see what kind of classes I can take, as i seems a creative skill very much worth having. Especially for someone who was at one time more than a little interested in penetrating the fashion world.

Be less selfish: They say that 99% of people talk without really listening to the response; they only think about what the will say next. I know I’ve been guilty of this, and for perhaps languishing on my own problems too long. Perhaps it is time to think about other people more.

Adobe products: To enhance my social media career, I really need to be able to use Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign and the like. I’ve begun the basics of some of these, but to really master them would be a big boost to my CV and career prospects.

Be more social: the work/home lifestyle is an easy trap to fall into. After all, who isn’t tired at the end of the day? Making the effort to go out and about seems like a lot of extra work at times. And yet, it is part of what makes a place like London magical. Go out, meet people, earn new experiences and make new memories.

Career: I love working in social media, but the company I currently work for isn’t necessarily the most innovative or exciting. In the next few months, I think it will be time to start looking around and decide what my long terms career goals are.

Leave a Reply

