Home

My best friend from Uni came down to London at the weekend, and so I bunked a free stay at the Andaz hotel. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and brunches, saw Phantom of the Opera, and I even introduced her to some of my more fabulous friends at Retro Bar 😉

It also reminded me how much I miss her. pearly

Harriet and I now only see each other once a year if we’re lucky. But it’s that wonderful thing with best friends that, when you do meet, it’s like no time at all has passed. Even more special is that we are both in that period of transition in our lives – we both see the goals of our careers on the horizon and we’re working to get them.

And who doesn’t love a healthy bit of griping about the hardships of the job with your best friend?

At uni Harriet and I were best friends. What was more, we were best friends who could live together and not end up wanting to throw each other out the window. It’s one of the easiest friendships I’ve ever had.

I find friendships so sacred. Probably because I didn’t have many growing up. In the village I grew up in people didn’t like or understand me, while at boarding school it was all about getting one up on another person. If you were hurt or showed weakness, the pack attacked. So people like Harriet have always been so special to me, and they’re one of the things I’m most grateful for.

I ma not have known true love or romance in my life yet, but I have known amazing friends.

And that is something as a teenager I couldn’t really fathom.

Leave a Reply

