Home

I launched 2015 in a way I’d always secretly dreamed, in a deliriously fun house party in the docklands surrounded by drinks, fun and friends.

My best friends were scattered around the country, so I ended up with workmates. But, you know what? It was a lot of fun (mainly) to bring in the new year on a roof terrace surrounded by workmates.

Normally I’m not a “new year’s” person. I find it forced, fake and full of pretentious twats. It just reminds of that big wedding/big divorce theory. If you feel the need to throw a party that big and externally announce it, then there must be something lacking inside.

But it has made me think about what I want from 2015. I don’t believe in resolutions, the same way I’m not fussed for big, expensive new year’s parties, but I do like to think about what I want for 2015.

The career: I am so lucky to have this job. I think I need to re-remind myself of that more often. For all the little negative things, there are huge advantages. The learning, the people, the creative work; it’s all valuable to furthering my career.

Letting it go: I tend to hold onto things which piss me off. Whether it’s friends, work, family…I have a terrible habit of keeping those negative feelings close. But I know it’s something I must stop doing. I think when we do it, it only serves to hurt us. I agree that sometimes we should get angry with people, when the situation demands it. We have to. But holding onto those pointless gripes? Just let them go.

The boy: I want things to continue with Chris. I really like him, and I want to see where things go. When we’re together, it just feels so right. Please say he becomes my boyfriend this year. Please say I start next year with his kiss.

Art: I love to draw and paint. I need to start doing it again as a release and way to chill out.

The life: I’ll be 27 this year. I want to get my life sorted out by 30.

Bring on 2015…

Leave a Reply

