Home

As I spoke to my friend Marina last week, she commented on how her Father had recently said she isn’t doing anything in her life right. She’s not working in a place that will give her the successful career if that’s what she wants, and at the same time she isn’t looking into other aspects of life properly – hobbies, relationships, friends. The company we work for commands so much of our time there’s hardly room for anything else, as much as we love what we do.

When she relayed it to be, it got us both thinking. Unfortunately, we had to concede he had a point.

Where do we draw the line?

Working in London is hard. Getting a handle and start on your career in your 20’s is hard. Making time for everything else is nothing short of miraculous.

We fight so hard to make it all work in perfect sync, is it possible that we’re in fact fighting the wrong way? A part of me argued, the part that revels in being metropolitan minded, obsessed with the city and all it has to offer, that he was wrong. That getting a start in life is the most important thing, that living and breathing the power of London is what life’s about, at least for now. But another part of me thought about how much of a fight it all is.

And, really, what is it we’re all fighting so hard for?

More money?

More job satisfaction?

More love?

More fame?

More time?

I never feel like I’m giving enough for my job. Enough is never enough. It’s not just the culture of excellence, that I can understand, it’s all the extras. All the time. As someone who always needs space to just be themselves, that can often be the hardest part.

So, where do we draw the line?

Is a job just supposed to be a job? Or in the modern mindset, is it supposed to be so much more? Have our jobs become lifestyle, and our lifestyles become our jobs? People define themselves now through work. A couple of years ago, that was what I wanted, too. Films I’d grown up with made it look so glamorous; living in the city, empowered by what you do. Then you get into the rat race and realise just how much running through the maze can take out of you.

Suddenly other things – hobbies, friends, relationships – you see the importance of them, and realise what a value they carry. I always want to be someone who’s obsessed to a degree with my career, it’s how I do my best work. I want to progress and make a big success of myself.

But I don’t want to do it to the detriment of everything else. work is a part of life, but the continental attitude of my friend’s father reminded me of that. It shouldn’t BE your life.

Work is working, but it’s not living. It’s why I joined a writing group, it’s why I auditioned for a play. I want things in my life i’m just doing for me. Not for my CV or networking or because it’s expected. Just for me alone.

I’m not sure how I’m going to fit it all in, but I will. The line may be bulging at the seams, but it feels good to have drawn it.

Leave a Reply

