Home

Shortly after I came home, my Dad handed me a book. ‘The Luck Factor’, by Richard Wiseman. I dismissed it at first, as I don’t generally set much store by self-help literature. Frankly, it can be something of a shit heap in my experience.

But as I read this particular book, I found that it was the results of a scientific experiment, probing deep into the psychology of what separates the lucky from the unlucky.

Truthfully, I’ve been finding it fascinating.

And it’s brought home some hard truths about my psyche to me. When things go wrong, I tend to let my world fall apart. The seams rip and everything just becomes one big mess. It’s like the problem leaks out and taints all the other areas of my life too.

I also realised that falling into such negative ways of thinking are what really put barriers on our own luck. They stop us meeting people. They stunt our ideas. They make us see the worst in the world when we should be seeing the best. Not in the native, rose-tinted sense, just in the way that the world is magical, we just have to let ourselves see it.

Going through this book and doing the exercises it presents seemed to awaken something long-dormant inside me. Something that I thought had been long-since destroyed by the hardships of boarding school and the cynicism of life. That there can be fun and enjoyment in all aspects of our lives, that life doesn’t have to be grey, cold and cruel. That the majority of people we meet will be good and honest if we are open to it. That, when it comes down to it, the world is a good place. The future can be bright and full of opportunity, or it can be another day of drudgery. The choice is ours.

I’m loving these few days at home, in the middle of the Scottish wilds in a sleepy village, a world away from the urban sprawl and bustle of London. But I also can’t wait to go back and put some of the lessons from this book into practice.

I guess you could say I’m feeling lucky. But that’s because I know now that luck isn’t some external fairy force randomly bestowed on us. We make it entirely ourselves.

Leave a Reply

